Day 1: Moreton-in-Marsh

12.06.2013. I arrived at Moreton-in-Marsh, the only Cotswold village with its own train station, and thus the unofficial gateway to the rest of the region, or at least for those without a car. The Cotswold is a stretch of area which lies within Gloucestershire in Midlands England. Its name is derived from old English, which means sheep enclosure in rolling hillsides.

The Cotswold conjures images of rolling hills and grazing sheeps; of the romantic and the laid back, hardly a suitable place for a back packer like me. I quickly realised that I had begun my 3 months break from work with the quintessential of English quaint-ness, a very good new chapter after the hectic end of life in busy London. I had looked forward to this for months, and will continue to turn the pages in the next few.

High street at Moreton-in-Marsh
High street at Moreton-in-Marsh

Moreton-in-marsh is alas non-descript, defined largely by a motor way high street lined by pretty limestone houses. In the next couple of days I will be heading to the ‘heavy weights’ of Cotswold villages- Chipping Campden, Stow-on-the-wold and if time permits Burton-on-the-water. I am hoping that the villages are as interesting as their names.

My purpose here is to visit a part of England where I have always wanted to, but failed to for the past 3 years living in London. More importantly, I am using it as a base to transit to Hereford, a town near the border of Wales. From where I will be meeting a smallholding family, who will be hosting me for a few days in exchange of my labour at their farm.

It should be fun.

One thought on “Day 1: Moreton-in-Marsh

  1. Sounds great! I know what you mean about travelling without a car – always requires so much more preparation and planning. Moreton-in-marsh looks very cute. I’d like to go check out the Cotswolds, as I’m in London too. Interested to hear more of your travels!

Leave a Reply

